Tennessee Child Support
Divorce Papers > Divorce Child Support > Tennessee Child Support
Today child support laws are formed in many countries across the globe. The objective of these guidelines is to make divorced families self-sufficient along with providing children their basic rights. In Tennessee, child maintenance rules are also formed with the same aim in view. These rules are administered by the state's Department of Human Services. The guidelines determine the percentage of income that the non-custodial parents have to pay to meet the basic requirements of their children. According to these guidelines, Tennessee divorce child support amount has to be continued until the child becomes emancipated.
We present here some key information regarding the child support process in Tennessee:
Payment schedule in Tennessee Divorce Child Support
The following payment schedules are permissible:
Any date from the 1st to the 31st is acceptable.
There are 2 payments per month. These 2 dates must be separated by 15 days. For example, 4th and 19th, 6th and 21st or 14th and 29th etc.
Every 2 weeks
Any day from Monday to Friday is selected and after every 2 weeks payment is done.
Any day from Monday to Friday is chosen and the determined amount is paid each week.
In case of semi monthly payments, if 15th and 30th are chosen, then in February, the payments would be made on the 15th and 28th. The same ideology is applicable to monthly payments.
How to pay and receive support?
A parent can make support payments through the Child Support Payment System of the Tennessee Department of Human Services. Otherwise, there are several other options also like:
A custodial parent or guardian can receive payments by:
Tennessee Electronic Access Card
J P Morgan Chase has issued the Tennessee Electronic Access Card in this state. It is not a credit card but a visa debit card. Each time the child subsidy payment is due, the state electronically deposits the amount in this card's account. This card can be used for the following reasons:
Purchasing items at shops wherever visa debit cards are accepted
Search for NCP (non custodial parent) in Tennessee Divorce Child Support
Certain services in this state are offered to locate the NCP. At the state level, the following automated on-line sources are searched:
At the Federal level, the Federal Parent Locator Service is used. This involves search of the following records:
Sometimes it is believed that the NCP resides in another state. Then, the state in question is forwarded a locate data sheet. If the local child support office in this other state is successful in the search, it can utilize the UIFSA (Uniform Interstate Family Support Act) for child support enforcement.
The CP (custodial parent) can make his/her own contribution to this search by divulging the Social Security Number of the NCP. The CP can search for it on income tax returns, pay stubs, insurance policies, bank records or hospital records.
What if there are no funds for child support payments?
A non-custodial parent must pay Tennessee divorce child support amount in the right time as ordered by the court. Otherwise they may be the subject of enforcement measures like denial of passport, interception of federal tax funds, withholding of wages, placement of liens, revocation of various licenses etc. Thus it is always better to act in accordance with the state-specific guidelines.
Divorce PapersHow To File For Divorce
No Fault Divorce
Children And Divorce
Do It Yourself Divorce
Marriage And Divorce
Divorce Legal Advice
Divorce In America
Divorce Child Support
Low Cost Divorce
How to Stop a Divorce