Virginia Child Support
In Virginia it is the duty of divorced parent to take care of their child in every possible way. They have to pay for the expenses of their child till the point the child do not become emancipated. Virginia divorce child support amount is decided by the court while following the guidelines specified by the state laws. This amount is determined considering a number of factors and also the best interests of the children. If any parent fails to disburse the maintenance amount, they will be the subject of enforcement measures. The Virginia Division of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) is the enforcement office of the state. Many services are also provided by this office in order to help parents. During the last year, this office had located 153,868 non-custodial parents and successfully collected around $639 million for children of divorced parents in Virginia.
At present, there are 353,000 child support cases in this state. Before filing for a case involving child support, one should understand the basic laws and regulations pertaining to this topic. Go through the following points that will help you in handling your case in a better way:
It has been observed that many times, a non-custodial parent does not pay the court-ordered amount. In such cases, the court can enforce the amount in certain ways like:
Fees charged in Virginia Divorce Child Support (applicable from 2006 to 2008)
DCSE levies the following fees from non-custodial parents:
DCSE charges some fees from custodial parents:
Payments in Virginia Divorce Child Support
DCSE gets payments electronically as well as by mail. The Division microfilms all the payments that are received by mail. Usually, it processes about 13,000 payments every business day. The payer's name and Social Security Number are used to credit the payments.
When there is no incomplete data and a payment is correctly identified, then it can be credited to the relevant account in a single business day after the DCSE receives it.
Some custodial parents have direct deposit system. In such cases, the DCSE deposits the payments in the account within 2 business days. If the custodial parent has not opted for direct deposit, then within 2 business days, a check is mailed to this parent.
Some individuals are ordered to disburse child support payments via Virginia DCSE. Such payments must be payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. On all the payments, the obligor must mention his/her name and Social Security Number.
All these information on Virginia divorce child support will be helpful to custodial and non-custodial parents, irrespective of how much amount they have to pay.
Divorce PapersHow To File For Divorce
No Fault Divorce
Children And Divorce
Do It Yourself Divorce
Marriage And Divorce
Divorce Legal Advice
Divorce In America
Divorce Child Support
Low Cost Divorce
How to Stop a Divorce