Oklahoma Divorce Procedures
Divorce Papers > Divorce Procedures >Oklahoma Divorce Procedures
Divorce is a big issue in the modern world. While in some societies it is considered as a taboo, in many other societies it has become a controversial issue. The aim of a divorce is to get rid of a failed marriage and look for a new life leaving aside past worries. Everyone desires to have a better life once he/ she gets separated from their present partner. But the route to happiness is not so easy. Some key rules lead to this success and following divorce proceedings is one of those rules. You may file your case in any part of the world but have to go through these processes honestly. Laws pertaining to dissolution of marriage in USA, one of the most powerful nation in the world, are different for each state. Oklahoma divorce procedures in accordance with the state laws are meant for couples undergoing a process in Oklahoma.
Like many other states in USA, the divorce procedures in Oklahoma are developed to resolve various marital issues. Some of the common procedures are described below:
Initial Phase of Oklahoma Divorce Procedure
After the Petitioner files a Petition, the court clerk issues a Summons. The intention of this Summons is to notify the Respondent that the divorce has been filed. Simultaneously, the lawyer of the Petitioner can apply for a temporary order. These orders prohibit the divorcing partners from executing some activities. For each temporary request made by the divorcing partners, they have to testify in the court.
The divorce papers are directed to a special officer or the Deputy of the Sheriff's Office for service, except in the following conditions:
Once the papers have been served, the Respondent is allotted 20 days to file an Answer. This document is forwarded through a lawyer in the court.
Duration of Oklahoma Divorce Procedure
There are 3 scenarios that decide the duration of the process. These scenarios are elaborated below:
Violation of Divorce Decree or Temporary Orders
There are 3 things that can be done about such a violation.
Laws regarding divorced couple
When the Judge declares that a particular couple is divorced, both are treated as single persons in the society. As per the law in this state, such single persons cannot cohabit with a third party or remarry for 6 months after the decree is granted.
It is very important to understand the pros and cons of your case and follow the Oklahoma divorce procedures that will address and resolve your issues. Be patient, confident and have faith in the legal system of your state. Only then you can struggle for your rights and get what you deserve.
Divorce PapersHow To File For Divorce
No Fault Divorce
Children And Divorce
Do It Yourself Divorce
Marriage And Divorce
Divorce Legal Advice
Divorce In America
Divorce Child Support
Low Cost Divorce
How to Stop a Divorce