Idaho Divorce Tips
Divorce Papers > Divorce Tips > Idaho Divorce Tips
When you are thinking to file a divorce case in Idaho or undergoing one, it is better to educate yourself with some key information on matters like divorce mediation, child support and custody and division of property. Idaho is a mixed state which means that couple can go for 'no-fault' or 'fault' divorce. Idaho also provides resources for do-it-yourself divorce. . It is not necessary to know all divorce laws and legal proceedings. But it is imperative to understand the various aspects of your case and Idaho divorce tips will give you a comprehensive idea of that.
Common pieces of advice on Idaho Divorce:
- Idaho divorce requires the plaintiff that is the spouse who files for a case, to be a resident of the state for at least 6 weeks, prior to the date on which the case has been filed.
- The divorce case can be filed in the county in which either party resides. If any of the spouse is not a resident of state, then the case must be filed in the county where the filing party resides.
- The grounds for filing include 'no-fault' or 'fault' divorce. No-fault grounds include irreconcilable differences. Again if both the spouses have been living separate and apart from each other for a period of 5 years or more without cohabitation, they can choose 'no-fault' divorce. As per the Idaho law, you will need the Complaint for Divorce and Decree of Divorce to start and finalize your case.
- Like many other states in the US, Idaho is a community property state. It believes in the equitable distribution of marital property, which includes property earned or gained by any spouse or both the spouses.
Some useful Idaho Divorce Tips
- The separate property of the wife does not have the liability of the debts of the husband.
- The separate property of the husband does not have the liability of the debts of the wife that have been contracted prior to the marriage.
- The accumulations and earnings of the wife and her minor children that have been residing with her or were in her custody, when the wife was residing separately from the husband are regarded as the separate property of the wife.
- The inventory that is filed in the recorder's office is a prima facie proof of the title of the wife. The wife may prepare and sign a complete inventory of her separate personal property. This must be recognized and proved in a way demanded by law. Further, it must be recorded in the office of the recorder of the county wherein the divorcing parties reside.
- One spouse (grantor) may convey property to the other spouse (grantee). Such a property is considered to be the sole and separate estate of the grantee. It is the responsibility of the grantor to execute and acknowledge an instrument of conveyance or a deed, despite the provisions mentioned in Section 32-912.
- While the marital status exists, the wife has the absolute power of disposition, control and management of her separate property. She may convey, sell or bargain her real and personal property and also has the right to enter into a contract with reference to the property. Similarly, the husband enjoys the same rights with respect to his real and personal property.
- The following types of property are categorized as the sole and separate property of a husband or wife:
- Owned prior to marriage
- Obtained at any time by descent, devise, bequest or gift
- The property that is obtained as the proceeds of his or her separate property
- If an insane person has been duly and regularly placed in an insane asylum of Idaho or a sister state or a foreign county for minimum 3 years immediately prior to the initiation of the action for divorce and the court concludes that the insanity is incurable and permanent, then a divorce might be granted on the grounds of permanent insanity of the person.
- One of the most significant Idaho divorce tips relate to child custody. Usually, the parent that has been given physical custody of the child/ children post divorce is also given child support payments by the parent who is not given physical custody. A part of the wages of the non-custodial parent are used for child support.
- It has been observed that in several cases the non-custodial parent fails to disburse child support. In such cases, the government steps in and coerces the parents to pay through garnishments.
- If a party seeks modification and the court concludes that the modification process constitutes harassment and is vexatious, then the attorney fees and costs are assessed against this party.
These Idaho divorce tips focus on solid legal information and will help you to make better decisions for future. As it is not possible to cover all legal information in one article, it is advised to consult an experienced attorney who will show you the right path.