Michigan Divorce Tips
Divorce Papers > Divorce Tips > Michigan Divorce Tips
Various research studies reveal that almost half of the first marriages in USA end in divorce. The rate is really shocking. The sensitive issue of divorce rising from marital discords is turned into a big business. Americans do not mind to spend as much as 2 billion dollars per year on this. The state of Michigan in USA also falls under this category where a good number of divorce cases are filed every year. If you are thinking about filing for a divorce case in Michigan, you should get well-acquainted with the laws pertaining to this state. Reading Michigan divorce tips will help you in this effort.
Some useful Michigan Divorce Tips:
- To file for a divorce case, the plaintiff must be living in Michigan for a period of 6 months. Not only this, he/ she should have resided in the county where the case was filed, for at least 10 days. If the other partner resides in another state, the Michigan court can grant a divorce; but it is not sure whether the court will be able to divide property and give decision regarding child support and child custody.
- Michigan divorce tips focus on waiting period from the time of filing the divorce until the termination of the marriage. It is to be noted here that evidences and testimonials cannot be produced in the court before 60 days from the time of filing the divorce.
- A custodial parent may be committed to jail as per Section 44(2)(e). If such a parent does not return to the place of confinement within the prescribed time, it is regarded that this individual has escaped from custody and is guilty of misbehavior. Consequently, this individual may be punished by imprisonment for a duration prescribed by the statute.
- A parent who has been erroneously denied parenting time can compensate for the parenting time at a latter date. Such a makeup parenting time policy is established by each circuit. However, such a policy is enforceable only when the chief circuit judge approves it.
- If the payer is in arrears of child support and the court has concluded that the payer is able to disburse from his or her present available resources; some or all part of the due amount as per the child support order then the court may find the payer in contempt.
- Sometimes, a bench warrant is issued and the payer is arrested in this state (either in the county that issued the warrant or another county), the payer is held in custody till a hearing is conducted or an adequate cash performance bond is posted by the payer.
- Consider the following situation:
- An individual has been ordered to disburse support amount through a support order and this individual fails or refuses to comply
- An order of income withholding is inapplicable or unsuccessful
When both these conditions are met, then, a friend of the court or a recipient of support are free to initiate a civil contempt proceeding. A petition may be filed in the circuit court to show a reason why the above mentioned individual should not be held in contempt
- The court reserves the right to order suspension of a sporting license, recreational license, driver's license and / or occupational license or a combination of these licenses. After receipt of the suspension order, the licensing agency is supposed to suspend the license within 7 business days.
- There arises a situation in which 2 hearings are pending. The first is the hearing under Section 29 and the second is a hearing on the petition for modification of the support order. Usually, the court consolidates these hearings except when the court detects good cause that the hearings should be separately executed. If the court reaches a decision that separate hearings should be held, then the hearing for modification is held earlier and that of Section 29 later.
- Consider that a parent has failed to maintain or obtain health care coverage for the child as ordered by the court. In this scenario, the office of the friend of the court would act in one of the following two ways:
- A notice of noncompliance would be sent to the parent
- A petition would be filed in the court to show cause why the parent cannot be held in contempt of failure regarding maintaining dependent health care coverage
Generally, both the partners have to suffer from the emotional outcomes of a divorce. To reduce that as much as possible, one should follow the Michigan divorce tips and plan his/ her work accordingly.