Nevada Divorce Tips
Divorce Papers > Divorce Tips > Nevada Divorce Tips
Like a successful marriage, there are various keys to a successful divorce. The term 'successful divorce' might seem to be weird or not-so-good. It means that a divorce comes as a blessing to you and your spouse; post-divorce, both of you can breathe freely in an environment devoid of any ego-clash, misunderstandings and day-to-day quarrels. This type of divorce also proves beneficial for the children as it secures their future psychologically and financially. If you have thought of such a divorce then you must know the important keys to achieve that. To make a good start, you should know some divorce tips that are relevant in your case. Nevada divorce tips give some necessary information regarding Nevada divorce laws and exceptions as well.
Some significant Nevada Divorce Tips
- For any divorce filling the residency requirement is of utmost importance. Nevada state court requires any of the spouses to reside in the state for a period of six weeks before the filing date.
- Spouses need appropriate ground to file for a divorce and those grounds are to proved accordingly while providing testimonials and evidences. Proven grounds on which both the spouses agree upon are accepted as proper lawful grounds. No-fault ground requires the spouses to live separate and apart for 1 year without any cohabitation and also on the basis of incompatibility.
According to Nevada Statutes- Chapter 125-Sections:010, a divorce on fault grounds can be accepted on the basis of insanity that has been existing for 2 years before the filing date.
- Nevada divorce tips also encompass child support. The amount for obligation for support is determined as follows:
- 18 percent if there is 1 child
- 25 percent if there are 2 children
- 29 percent if there are 3 children
- 31 percent if there are 4 children
- An additional 2 percent, for each additional child
- After the court takes the decisions regarding child custody, the custodial parent might intend to change his or her residence outside Nevada and take the child to the new place. Such a custodial parent , try to procure the written consent of the non-custodial parent to take the child outside the state. Now, the non custodial parent may deny such a move. Then, the custodial parent must petition the court to procure permission to move the child.
- In case of minor children, the visitation rights are granted in the following conditions:
- In an order of separate maintenance
- In a divorce decree
- When an eligible person files a petition
- After the eligible person stops to live with the minor child
- If the parents of the child were not legally married and were cohabiting and one of the parent dies or the parents separate
- After the termination or relinquishment of a parental right or after divorce or separation of the parent
- Consider that the parent of an unmarried minor child:
- Has relinquished the parental rights, or
- His parental rights have been terminated, or
- Has never been legally married to the child's other parent and has cohabited with the other parent. Moreover, the parent is separated from the other parent at present or is dead, or
- Is divorced or separated from the parent who has been awarded the child's custody, or
- Is deceased
In all the above cases, the District Court that exists in the county, wherein the child lives might award a reasonable right to visit the child during the child's minority to the grandparents of the child, great grandparents of the child and other children of either parents of the child.
- A custodial parent may not comply with a judgment that orders an additional visit. Then, the court might pass a judgment that this parent is guilty of contempt and sentence the parent to imprisonment in the county jail.
- It may happen that the non-custodial parent might desire to make an additional visit. In such a condition, this non-custodial parent must give the custodial parent and the court a written notice of his desire in the following manner:
- If the proposed additional visit is to be on a vacation or holiday, then minimum 30 days prior to the visit, the written notice must be given.
- If the proposed visit is to be on a weekend or a weekday, then minimum 7 days prior to the visit, the written notice must be given.
- In case of a child who is handicapped, the parent is expected to support this child beyond the age of majority till the child becomes self supporting or the child is no longer handicapped. However, the condition is that the handicap of the child must have occurred prior to the date on which the child became a major.
Nevada was known as 'divorce haven' in the past. Learn the above-mentioned Nevada divorce tips and apply them to reap short-term benefits during divorce and long-term benefits post-divorce.