New Hampshire Divorce Tips
Divorce Papers > Divorce Tips > New Hampshire Divorce Tips
When you are ready to remove some bad phases of your life from your memory, you should follow your brain and not heart. For example, if you wish to get separated from your married partner, you must think of divorce. Although, this advise may sound too harsh, but it is better to choose your priorities and accept the reality as early as possible. To enjoy the best results post-divorce, you should follow some simple steps like managing your finances, focusing on your and your children's future, etc. Besides these, you should also know the divorce laws of your state that are related to your case. For a New Hampshire divorce couple, knowing New Hampshire divorce laws are significant. We are providing here a list of New-Hampshire divorce tips that will help you in knowing these laws.
Some Basic New Hampshire Divorce Tips
- Residency requirements are essential for filing for a divorce case. New-Hampshire divorce laws require the spouses to be residents of the state for at least 1 year. But if one partner is a resident of the state and the other is not, then the court recognizes the case only when the reason for the divorce has happened in the court.
- No case is recognized by the court if the grounds for the case are not appropriate. No-fault divorce case can be recognized when the married partners have irreconcilable differences. Faults grounds include the following:
- Inhuman treatment or excessive cruelty
- Alcohol abuse
- If one spouse abandons the other
- When a man and woman get married it does not mean that the husband has any liability for the debts of the wife that have been contracted before the marriage.
- New Hampshire divorce tips also encompass child support and custody. Assume that the partners that are involved in child support and custody issues file an action before the Superior Court. The clerk of the Superior Court requires that the partners must be present for a 4 hour information session. This session is nothing else but a seminar regarding how to assist the children deal with topics like custody, separation and divorce.
- In the circumstances mentioned below, the attendance at the seminar might be waived:
- The court detects some reason like child care, transportation, domestic violence etc. to award a waiver.
- The child support enforcement office has brought an action to modify or enforce an existing order.
- The partner has attended the seminar previously.
- The partner is imprisoned.
- The child support formula is as follows:
- If there are 4 or more children, then 45 percent of net income is the child support amount
- If there are 3 children, then 40 percent of net income
- If there are 2 children, then 33 percent of net income
- If there is 1 child, then 25 percent of net income
- Consider the following situation:
- The gross income of the obligor parent is less than the self-support reserve and
- The court has concluded that the obligor is not voluntarily under-employed or unemployed
When both the above conditions are fulfilled, then the court issues orders that the child support obligation should be the amount of minimum support order.
- Net income is calculated in the following manner:
The combined adjusted gross income of the parents is found out. Standard deductions are subtracted from this sum. The Department of Health and Human Services publishes on a yearly basis the deductions to be made. Secondly, the Federal Internal Revenue Service decides the Federal Income Tax and Medicare.
- The term "arrearage" means the sum of the following two amounts:
- Every legal order has an effective date from which a periodic support amount is due. The total amount of unpaid support that has accrued since this date is included in arrearage.
- The total amount of unreimbursed assistance that has been accrued before the effective date of the legal order is included in arrearage.
- Assume that the husband and wife are living apart. In these cases, when orders for custody and maintenance of children are issued and any arrearage occurs in the maintenance amount for children, then, the wages of the obligor parent are withheld.
- If the custodial parent is about to relocate, this parent shall offer reasonable notice to the non- custodial parent. As far as section 458:23-a is concerned, a sixty days notice is expected except when some other factors are present.
- If the custody of some children is awarded to the Department of Health and Human Services, the status of these children would be reviewed minimum once per year after the initial grant of custody. If the Department requests so, more frequent reviews may also be executed.
These New Hampshire divorce tips will simplify your divorce and you wont have to suffer the adverse effects. Try to remain calm in the court room where you may have to answer some bitter questions regarding your personal life. With a positive mind, approach your case and get ready to yield good results in the future.