Tennessee Divorce Tips

Divorce Papers > Divorce Tips > Tennessee Divorce Tips

Is your marriage over? If the present relationship has lost its meaning for you and you have taken every possible attempt to save it but failed, then you need divorce. Once you decide that you want divorce, you must look forward to a good future for yourself and others who will be affected by this decision. You need some guidelines that will clear your confusion . This is also true for couples who are going to file for divorce in Tennessee. So, we provide here a set of Tennessee divorce tips that will lessen your tension to a greater extent.

Some vital Tennessee Divorce Tips

  • The Tennessee state court requires the plaintiff to be a resident of Tennessee. It may so happen that the grounds for divorce have occurred outside the state, then any of the spouses need to be a resident of the state for at least a period of 6 months. The petition must be filed in the county where the defendant or the plaintiff resides, or in the chancery or circuit court in the county where the spouses reside at the time of the divorce.

  • One of the most important Tennessee divorce tips is regarding grounds for divorce. A divorce case on no-fault grounds is granted when there are irreconcilable differences between the two partners, or they have been living separate for a period of 2 years without cohabitation and with no minor children involved.

    On the other hand, a divorce on fault ground can be accepted on the basis of the following causes:

    • Adultery
    • Impotency
    • Extreme cruelty
    • Imprisonment
    • Bigamy
    • If a spouse leaves his/ her partner willingly
    • If one spouse attempts to murder the other
    • If one partner is willfully absent from the other partner residing in Tennessee for a period of 2 years

  • The part 36-6-510 permits both a non-custodial and a custodial parent to file a motion in the court to alter an order of custody or visitation.

  • If the court issues a certification under 36-6-506, this is an adequate basis for the revocation, suspension or denial of a license or a licensing authority's refusal to reinstate, renew or issue a license. This rule is to be followed irrespective of any regulation, rule or law that directs the contrary.

  • The court certifies by electronic data exchange or in written form to every licensing authority that the offending parent does not comply with an order of visitation in the following conditions:
    • After a hearing is conducted as per part 36-6-506, the court passes a decision that the parent does not comply with an order of visitation.
    • The parent has not entered into a consent order as mentioned in 36-6-504 or if the parent has entered into this consent order, then, has not complied with the order.
    • After service of notice issued under 36-6-503, the parent fails to request a hearing.
    • In any proceeding that was executed to enforce some provision of the order of visitation, the court reaches the conclusion that one of the parent does not comply with the order of visitation while the other parent particularly prayed for relief in the form of license suspension, denial or revocation.

  • When a dispute resolution process is not limited or prevented, then the court takes into account several relevant factors that may be designating such a process. Some of these factors are as follows:
    • The economical conditions of the divorcing parties to pay for alternative dispute resolution (ADR) procedures in those regions where ADR programs endorsed by the court are not available
    • The desires and agreements of the parents: If any agreements have been made by the parents, then, if these agreements were made voluntarily and knowingly
    • If there are any differences amongst the parents due to which they cannot efficiently participate in any designated procedure

  • Consider this particular case: In a proceeding related to visitation issues of a child, an order of protection is recognized or issued by this state. While this order is in effect, the court finds that within the marriage there is domestic abuse or any criminal conviction of domestic abuse. If this finding of the court is the subject of the proceeding for maintenance or separate support or divorce, then, the court might order mediation only in the following conditions:
    • The victim of domestic violence is allowed to be accompanied by a supporting individual of the choice of the victim at the mediation. This supporting individual might be an advocate or lawyer. There is no necessity for the victim to offer a sum of money to a non-attorney advocate for remaining present at the mediation
    • A certified mediator, who has undergone training in domestic and family violence in a manner that safeguards the victim, oversees the mediation
    • The victim of the alleged family or domestic violence accedes to undergo the mediation

Whatever decision you make, you must think rationally leaving aside your ego and what happened in the past. Look forward to the future and take the right step guided by the Tennessee divorce tips.

Divorce Papers

How To File For Divorce
Divorce lawyers
Divorce Laws
Divorce Mediation
Divorce Statistics
Uncontested Divorce
No Fault Divorce
Divorce Procedures
Divorce Questions
Divorce Tips
Divorce Steps
Children And Divorce
Do It Yourself Divorce
Divorce Support
Divorce Settlement
Divorce Rights
Collaborative Divorce
Marriage And Divorce
Divorce Alimony
Divorce Proceedings
Contested Divorce
Divorce Counseling
Divorce Petition
Divorce Custody
Divorce Legal Advice
Divorce Adultery
Divorce In America
Divorce Child Support
International Divorce
Divorce Orders
Post Divorce
Property Divorce
Low Cost Divorce
How to Stop a Divorce
Quick Divorce