No Fault Divorce States

Divorce Papers > No Fault Divorce > No Fault Divorce States

Every marriage may have various hurdles and problems between both the individuals. However, some of the unresolved conflicts may lead to the occurrence of a negative process named divorce. Through divorce, spouses receive a legal permission to end up their marital relationship and start off a new life with a new perspective. However, some of the joint issues such as, property or debt division, child custody or support matter, alimony settlement, visitation schedule and other essential matters are required to be resolved before the final divorce decree is declared by the court. Most importantly, circumstance between both the partners is one of the major factors that decide the type of divorce to be filed by the spouses. However, no fault divorce is the most simplest and common divorce method found in most of the states in the US. The base of a no fault divorce is that both the husband and the wife do not indict one another for the breakdown of their marriage. In order to procure a divorce, none of these have to prove fault or guilt or accuse each other. Generally, they have to site incompatibility, irretrievable breakdown or irreconcilable differences as the reasons for the divorce. Before implementation of no fault divorce procedures, some states demand a definite separation period for both the partners and this separate living process is mainly performed with an intention that the separation should be permanent. Overall, no fault divorce is less complicated and a less expensive process for the suitable divorcing spouses in the state. However, the legal proceedings associated with a no fault divorce may vary from state to state as per the variation found in court laws and policies.

Transformation to No Fault Divorce States

After the Russian Revolution of 1917, the Bolsheviks introduced the concept of no fault divorce. However, in the United States, this concept became ripe only in 1953, when Oklahoma became the first state to accept this sort of divorce. For the next 17 years, nothing worthwhile took place in the United States regarding this divorce type.

On September 4, 1969, the Governor of California, Ronald Reagan signed the Family Law Act, according to which California registered its name as the 2nd state in the country to allow a no fault divorce. From the above mentioned date till 1977, 9 states in the country supported no fault divorce. Till the end of 1983, each state with the exception of South Dakota and New York incorporated no fault divorce laws.

After few years, it was South Dakota that joined the category of states which accepted the no fault divorce. Currently, it is only the New York state that does not grant the no fault divorce.

Roster of No Fault Divorce States

States wherein No Fault divorce was added to Traditional divorce (i.e. Fault and No Fault divorces exist) States wherein No Fault is the Sole ground for divorce Duration of living apart and separate (states not included do not have any such duration)
  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. Connecticut
  5. Delaware
  6. Georgia
  7. Idaho
  8. Illinois
  9. Louisiana
  10. Maine
  11. Maryland
  12. Massachusetts
  13. Mississippi
  14. Missouri
  15. New Hampshire
  16. New Jersey
  17. New Mexico
  18. New York
  19. North Carolina
  20. North Dakota
  21. Ohio
  22. Pennsylvania
  23. Rhode Island
  24. South Carolina
  25. South Dakota
  26. Tennessee
  27. Texas
  28. Utah
  29. Vermont
  30. Virginia
  31. West Virginia
  32. Wyoming
  1. Alaska
  2. Arizona
  3. California
  4. Colorado
  5. District of Columbia
  6. Florida
  7. Hawaii
  8. Iowa
  9. Kentucky
  10. Michigan
  11. Minnesota
  12. Montana
  13. Nebraska
  14. Oregon
  15. Washington
  16. Wisconsin
  1. Alabama - 2 years
  2. Alaska - 2 years
  3. Arkansas - 18 months
  4. Connecticut - 18 months
  5. Delaware - 6 months
  6. District of Columbia - 1 year
  7. Hawaii - 2 years
  8. Illinois - 2 years
  9. Kentucky - 60 days
  10. Louisiana - 6 months
  11. Maryland - 2 years
  12. Missouri - 1-2 years
  13. Montana - 180 days
  14. Nevada - 1 year
  15. New Hampshire - 2 years
  16. New Jersey - 18 months
  17. New York - 1 year
  18. North Carolina - 1 year
  19. Ohio - 1 year
  20. Pennsylvania - 2 years
  21. Rhode Island - 3 years
  22. South Carolina - 1 year
  23. Tennessee - 2 years
  24. Texas - 3 years
  25. Utah - 3 years
  26. Vermont - 6 months
  27. Virginia - 1 year
  28. West Virginia - 1 year

The above table indicates some facts of no fault divorce for the year 2000. Since then it is possible that some alterations could have taken place.

Divorce Papers

How To File For Divorce
Divorce lawyers
Divorce Laws
Divorce Mediation
Divorce Statistics
Uncontested Divorce
No Fault Divorce
Divorce Procedures
Divorce Questions
Divorce Tips
Divorce Steps
Children And Divorce
Do It Yourself Divorce
Divorce Support
Divorce Settlement
Divorce Rights
Collaborative Divorce
Marriage And Divorce
Divorce Alimony
Divorce Proceedings
Contested Divorce
Divorce Counseling
Divorce Petition
Divorce Custody
Divorce Legal Advice
Divorce Adultery
Divorce In America
Divorce Child Support
International Divorce
Divorce Orders
Post Divorce
Property Divorce
Low Cost Divorce
How to Stop a Divorce
Quick Divorce