Kansas Divorce Questions
Divorce Papers > Divorce Questions > Kansas Divorce Questions
Divorce is the legal process to end marriage. The divorcing partners who are thinking about legally ending their marriage should know about the divorce law and other procedures. There are certain common laws that are acceptable in many states. So one should be aware whether the state where they are planning to file for divorce recognizes common laws. The divorcing partners should know that in Kansas either one of the divorcing partners must be residing in this state for at least 60 days. If the divorcing couple has child or children, then they need to know about the child support criteria in this state. The Kansas divorce questions list provided below will solve all your queries and help to ease the process of divorce. There are several questions that would fill the mind of people looking forward to file a divorce.
Some examples of Kansas Divorce Questions:
Q. Are common law marriages legally recognized in this state?
A. This state legally acknowledges common law marriages. When a man and a woman accede with each other to get married and pose themselves as a married couple in front of the public, a common law marriage is established.
Q. In Kansas, what are the residency requirement criteria?
A. Either one or both divorcing partners must be residing in this state for minimum 60 days immediately before the filing date of the Petition.
Q. How does the court resolve the issue of child support?
A. Child Support Guidelines have been established by the Kansas Legislature. These are adhered to determine the presumptive proper amount of child support. However, if the court forms an opinion that the use of these guidelines would be inappropriate and unjust, then, the court might deviate from the guidelines. All these findings are mentioned in the Judgment.
Q. Are visitation rights extended to grandparents?
A. If the child is a minor and a considerable relation between the grandparent and the child has been proved, the grandparents might be granted visitation rights. However, it must be in the best interests of the child to have such a visitation.
Q. It is mandatory that the divorcing partners must be represented by separate lawyers? Can the divorcing partners represent self?
A. According to the law in this state, the divorcing partners must be represented separately by two different lawyers. It is the right of any divorcing partners to represent self. However, such a decision is not advisable. The interests of the divorcing partner can be pursued in a better manner by a divorce lawyer.
Q. What factors are taken into account by the court when finalizing child custody and visitation issues?
Q. Are there any restrictions regarding alimony payments?
A. The court awards alimony for a maximum period of 121 months. Once this duration is complete, the divorced partner may file a petition in the court that alimony might be granted for an additional period of 121 months. There is no extension after this second period of 121 months is over.
Q. Which are the different modes of disbursing alimony?
A. Alimony might be a percentage of earnings, a lump sum, periodic or any other basis.
Q. Which grounds of divorce are recognized in this country?
Divorce PapersHow To File For Divorce
No Fault Divorce
Children And Divorce
Do It Yourself Divorce
Marriage And Divorce
Divorce Legal Advice
Divorce In America
Divorce Child Support
Low Cost Divorce
How to Stop a Divorce