Louisiana Divorce Forms & Papers
Divorce Papers > Louisiana Divorce Forms & Papers
The divorce laws in the state of Louisiana are unique and one should know about the laws and the procedures before filing a divorce and taking a step in this direction. It is essential that the person filing for divorce consult a lawyer in order to know a few basic divorce laws and the requirements that one need to fulfill in order to go through a hassle free and quick divorce. Most of the information is also available on line so all you have to do is go through some of the most authentic sites and get to know as much as you could in order to be prepared to sail through the process. Louisiana divorce forms and papers are also available on line but before you download these forms make sure that you meet all the state requirements of filing a divorce.
Residential requirements for the state of Louisiana:
Louisiana follows strict laws to fulfill the residential requirements of the state. These laws would help you to allow using the judicial system of the court as per their jurisdiction. Spouses who have recently moved to Louisiana or who still plan to relocate might face problems to meet the residential requirements.
Prior to filing for the divorce, the spouse filing for divorce must have been a resident of Louisiana for 12 months. The divorce must be filed in the parish of the respondent/ defendant. [Louisiana Civil Code Annotated, Article 142; and Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure, Article 42]. For more information on filing for a divorce see our page
Except for a covenant marriage, a divorce is granted when either of the spouses files a divorce petition and one hundred and eighty days has elapsed from the date of the petition. A divorce is usually filed in the parish where the spouse who is filing divorce papers resides. (Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure - Article: 42)
Grounds for divorce in the state of Louisiana:
The only grounds for divorce is a spouse's desire for a divorce. There are no requirements to show marital breakdown, fault, living separate and apart, or any other basis for a divorce. After filing the petition, a divorce is granted after a period of 180 days has elapsed from the filing date and if both parties have been living separate and apart since the filing of the divorce petition. Reconciliation is essentially the only defense to a divorce sought on these grounds. [Louisiana Civil Code Annotated, Title V, Article 102].
In case of a covenant marriage, a divorce can be granted only when one submits proof of any one of the following: 1) A spouse has committed adultery 2) A spouse commits felony and has been sentenced to imprisonment for life or death sentence 3) The spouse has moved the county for a year and shows no sign of return or refuses to return 4) A spouse has faced physical or sexual abuse for seeking divorce or have even abused the child of one of the spouses 5) Partners have been living separate without reconciliation for a period to two years. 6) The couple has been living separately apart without reconciliation for one year from the time the judgment of separation has been passed (Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure - Article: 103)
USE THESE WORDS IN THE COURT DOCUMENTS FOR LOUISIANA
For detailed divorce laws in Louisiana state, please see Louisiana Divorce Laws page.
Child custody and visitations:
Shared custody for children is preferred by and is becoming popular with Louisiana divorce cases. In most cases a shared or joint custody is approved, however, the court might still check the best interest of children before awarding parental responsibilities or child custody to a partner. There are various factors that a court checks before bestowing this responsibility to partners. Some of the factors include: 1) love, affection and other emotional ties between the spouse and the child 2) the capability of a spouse to guide the child and provide good education 3) the capacity of a partner to provide food, clothing, shelter, medical care and other needs and requirements 4) the moral fitness and willingness of each partner to continue your relationship with your child.
Free Louisiana Divorce Forms for DownloadFollowing divorce forms are free for download. Most of the forms are provided with instructions on how to fill the form. To download any of these divorce papers and forms just right click on the link and select "Save As...".
If you don't want to file for divorce papers directly then find Divorce Lawyers in Louisiana here.
Divorce PapersHow To File For Divorce
No Fault Divorce
Children And Divorce
Do It Yourself Divorce
Marriage And Divorce
Divorce Legal Advice
Divorce In America
Divorce Child Support